Ownership

Heinrich Koehler, together with its four sister companies on three continents, constitutes a worldwide network of stamp auctions of long-standing tradition, the "Global Philatelic Network". All the companies come under the holding company Koehler & Corinphila Holding GmbH, with its headquarters in Wiesbaden. The families of the two long-serving CEO's Dieter Michelson and Karl Louis are, together with another private collector, the only three shareholders in the Koehler & Corinphila holding company.
Karl Louis and Dieter Michelson
Karl Louis and Dieter Michelson

Koehler & Corinphila Holding GmbH

The group of stamp auction houses known as the Global Philatelic Network is globally active and well-known worldwide in philately with its companies of long-established tradition. The Wiesbaden-based stamp auction house of Heinrich Koehler is the oldest stamp auction house in Germany and was founded as long ago as 1913. Corinphila Auctions of Zurich is the oldest stamp auction house in Switzerland, founded in 1921, and has held stamp auctions since 1925. John Bull Auctions is the oldest stamp auction company in Hong Kong. H.R. Harmers was founded in 1940 in the U.S.A. and has auctioned the collection of the American President Franklin D. Roosevelt among others. The annual auction turnover of all the companies is between 25 and 30 million euros.

Virtually all the companies have for many years been ranked among the leading companies in their respective home countries. As a group in an increasingly globalised market it is one of the three leading auction groups for the marketing of high-value collectors’ stamps and is well prepared for the future.

About the auction companies

The stamp auction house of Heinrich Koehler, the oldest stamp auction house in Germany, holds the current world record auction price for a German stamp amounting to approximately EUR 1.18 million (2.3 million German marks in 1985) for one of the most famous stamps of in Germany, the “Baden error of 1851”.

More recently, spectacular realizations were achieved at the auction of the collections of Fritz Kirchner, with a 320,000-euro hammer price for a block of twelve of the first postage stamp of Germany, the Bavaria ‘one kreuzer black’ of 1849. The rarity is that in this block a stamp was inadvertently printed upside-down on the sheet!

Corinphila Auctions of Zürich, as the oldest stamp auction house in Switzerland with a branch in Amsterdam, has achieved spectacular results in Swiss Confederation as well as in Chinese philately. A cover of 1850 with eight copies of the 21⁄2 rappen “Winterthur” stamp was knocked down for 480,000 Swiss francs in 2009. A year earlier when Corinphila in Zurich had offered a block of 15 copies of the Chinese ‘red revenue’ issue of 1897 the bidding went from 30,000 to 640,000 Swiss francs.

The Corinphila office in Amstelveen near Amsterdam achieved a spectacular record price in philately in 2010, when the first three stamps of the Netherlands of 1852 in ‘gutter pairs’ with extra wide spacing between the stamps changed hands at auction for 60,000 euros.

H.R. Harmer in the U.S.A., in addition to the collection of the American President Franklin Delano Roosevelt, also sold the collections, which were world-renowned in philately, of the American industrialist Alfred F. Lichtenstein (CIBA President) and Alfred H. Caspary. With the Caspary collection H.R. Harmer sold one of the most famous items in United States philately, the ‘Eliza Dawson cover’ of 1851 franked with postage stamps of the United States as well as rare Hawaiian ‘missionary’ stamps, into the collection of the French tobacco industrialist Maurice Burrus.

John Bull in Hong Kong was founded in 1977 and is today the oldest stamp auction house in Hong Kong. Most recently, John Bull made headlines when a special stamp issued in 1980 by the postal administration of the People’s Republic of China for the ‘year of the monkey’, the so-called ‘red monkey’ in a complete counter sheet of 80 copies found a new owner at a hammer price of 1.1 million Hong Kong dollars (approximately 110,000 euros). It is worth noting that when first issued in 1980 the ‘red monkey’ stamp cost the collector the counter sheet of 80 copies as much as 16 euros!

Special printings

The beautifully centered 3c and 10c special printing (soft paper) were hammered at Nutmeg, now H.R. Harmer in 2008 for respectively 135,000 and 90,000 dollar.
The beautifully centered 3c and 10c special printing (soft paper) were hammered at Nutmeg, now H.R. Harmer in 2008 for respectively 135,000 and 90,000 dollar.

The 'one kreuzer black'

A block of twelve copies of the ‘one kreuzer black’, the first German stamp of 1849, with one stamp inverted (second row, first stamp!) 320,000 euros hammer price at Heinrich Koehler in 2009.

A block of twelve copies of the ‘one kreuzer black’, the first German stamp of 1849, with one stamp inverted (second row, first stamp!) 320,000 euros hammer price at Heinrich Koehler in 2009.

WINTERTHUR

Eight stamps of the Swiss ‘Winterthur issue’ of 1850 on a letter; in 2009 this was auctioned by Corinphila Auctions in Zürich for 480,000 Swiss francs.
Eight stamps of the Swiss ‘Winterthur issue’ of 1850 on a letter; in 2009 this was auctioned by Corinphila Auctions in Zürich for 480,000 Swiss francs.

gutter pairs

The first postage stamps of the Netherlands from the year 1852 in rare “gutter pair" sold for 60.000 euros at Corinphila Veilingen in Amstelveen in 2010.

The first postage stamps of the Netherlands from the year 1852 in rare “gutter pair" sold for 60.000 euros at Corinphila Veilingen in Amstelveen in 2010.

red revenues

15 Chinese ‘red revenue’ stamps of 1897 were auctioned at Corinphila Auctions in Zürich in 2008 for a hammer price of 640,000 Swiss francs.
15 Chinese ‘red revenue’ stamps of 1897 were auctioned at Corinphila Auctions in Zürich in 2008 for a hammer price of 640,000 Swiss francs.

red monkey

The “red monkey” of China in a counter sheet of 80 copies made approximately 168,000 euros in 2016 at John Bull in Hong Kong. When first issued in 1980 collectors paid only 20 cents per stamp!

The “red monkey” of China in a counter sheet of 80 copies made approximately 168,000 euros in 2016 at John Bull in Hong Kong. When first issued in 1980 collectors paid only 20 cents per stamp!

THE MANAGING PARTNERS

The two managing directors and new partners Dieter Michelson and Karl Louis have worked for many years in philately and have close relationships with leading collectors and philatelic institutions.

Dieter Michelson, born in Dublin, Ireland in 1960, has been active without interruption since 1982 in executive positions with companies in various fields of philately. In 1981 Michelson joined the newly-established stamp wholesaler Philagentur GmbH. A year later he took over the management at the age of 22 and led the company, through internal growth and the acquisition of competitors, to become a market-leading German distributor of the new issues of postal administrations from around the world.

In 2002, Dieter Michelson in addition took over the management of the auction house of Heinrich Koehler in Wiesbaden. From 2009 Michelson was responsible for the stamp dealing part of the American ‘Spectrum Group International’ until the now completed acquisition. Dieter Michelson was for many years active on the boards of the German Stamp Dealers’ Association (APHV) and the International Federation of Stamp Dealers’ Associations (IFSDA). At the same time he was President of the Federal Association of German Stamp Auctioneers (BDB) from 2005 to 2008.

Since 2009 Michelson has been a member of the Consilium Philatelicum, Bonn, an institution for the promotion of philately in Germany.

Privately, Dieter Michelson collects “Irish postal history in the 19th century”, this being the postage stamps of Great Britain used in Ireland until 1900, as well as “hand illustrated classic letters of the 19th century”.

Karl Louis, born in 1961, has been involved with philately since the early 1970s as a collector and exhibitor, and also since 1986 with some interruption as a professional philatelist. In 1986 he graduated in business administration from the University of Cologne with an economics thesis on ‘the postage stamp market’. From 1986 to 1991 he was a professional philatelist with Heinrich Koehler. From 1992 to 1998 he was Product Manager and Marketing Director of a major manufacturer of construction chemicals in the Dyckerhoff group. From 1999 to 2006 he was General Manager of a medium-sized construction chemical producer, and in 2006 he returned to the stamp business as Managing Director Heinrich Koehler.

Since 1992 Karl Louis has been active as a philatelic certifier and expert in national and international institutions. As a collector of ‘the stamps of Great Britain during the reign of Queen Victoria 1840-1901’ Louis is the author or co-author of many articles, as well as handbooks and catalogues on the philately of Great Britain and Switzerland.

In 2006 he was awarded the Tapling Medal by the Royal Philatelic Society in London for a specialist publication.

Dieter Michelson
Dieter Michelson
Karl Louis
Karl Louis

Contact

Koehler & Corinphila Holding GmbH

Dieter Michelson and Karl Louis
c/o Heinrich Koehler Auktionshaus GmbH & Co. KG 
Wilhelmstr. 48 
65183 Wiesbaden
+49 (0)611 39381
+49 (0)611 39384
info@heinrich-koehler.de

Gesellschafter

Heinrich Köhler bildet mit vier Schwestergesellschaften auf drei Kontinenten ein weltweites Netz von traditionsreichen Briefmarkenauktionen, das Global Philatelic Network. Alle Unternehmen gehören der Köhler & Corinphila Holding GmbH mit Sitz in Wiesbaden. Die Familien der beiden langjährigen Geschäftsführer Dieter Michelson und Karl Louis sind mit einem weiteren privaten Sammler die drei alleinigen Gesellschafter der Köhler & Corinphila Holding.

Karl Louis und Dieter Michelson
Karl Louis und Dieter Michelson

Köhler & Corinphila Holding GmbH

Bei den Briefmarken-Auktionshäusern der Global Philatelic Network-Gruppe handelt es sich um global tätige und weltweit in der Philatelie bekannte Unternehmen mit jeweils langer Tradition. Das in Wiesbaden ansässige Briefmarken-Auktionshaus Heinrich Köhler ist das älteste Briefmarken-Auktionshaus in Deutschland und wurde bereits 1913 gegründet. Die Corinphila-Auktionen in Zürich als ältestes Briefmarken-Auktionshaus der Schweiz wurde 1921 gegründet und führt seit 1925 Briefmarkenauktionen durch. John Bull Auctions ist das älteste Briefmarken-Auktionsunternehmen in Hong Kong. H.R. Harmers wurde 1940 in den USA gegründet und versteigerte u.a. die Sammlung des amerikanischen Präsidenten Franklin D. Roosevelt. Der jährliche Auktions Gesamtzuschlag aller Unternehmen lag zuletzt zwischen 25 und 30 Millionen Euro.

Praktisch alle Unternehmen gehören seit vielen Jahren zu den marktführenden Unternehmen in ihren jeweiligen Heimatländern. Als Gruppe sieht man sich in einem immer stärker globalisierenden Markt als eine der führenden Versteigerer-Gruppen für die Vermarktung hochwertigster Sammlerbriefmarken und ist für die Zukunft gut gerüstet.

Über die Auktionsfirmen

Das Briefmarkenauktionshaus Heinrich Köhler als ältestes Briefmarkenauktionshaus Deutschlands hält den aktuellen Weltrekord-Auktionszuschlag für eine deutsche Briefmarke in Höhe von umgerechnet rund 1,18 Millionen Euro (2,3 Millionen Deutsche Mark im Jahr 1985) für eine der berühmtesten Briefmarken Deutschlands, den „Baden Fehldruck von 1851“.

Zuletzt gelangen spektakuläre Auktionszuschläge bei der Versteigerung der Sammlungen Fritz Kirchner, so mit 320‘000 Euro Zuschlag für ein Blockstück von zwölf Exemplaren der ersten Briefmarke Deutschlands, dem ‚Schwarzen Einser‘ von 1849 aus Bayern. Die Seltenheit: Bei diesem Blockstück war eine Marke versehentlich kopfstehend im Bogen gedruckt!

Die Corinphila-Auktionen in Zürich als ältestes Briefmarkenauktionshaus der Schweiz mit einer Niederlassung in Amsterdam hat mit spektakulären Ergebnissen aus der eidgenössischen sowie der China-Philatelie auf sich aufmerksam gemacht. So wurde ein Brief von 1850 mit acht Exemplaren der 2 ½ Rappen Briefmarke „Winterthur“ im Jahre 2009 für 480.000 Schweizer Franken zugeschlagen. Ein Jahr zuvor wurde bei Corinphila in Zürich ein zusammenhängendes Blockstück von 15 Exemplaren der chinesischen ‚Red Revenue‘ Ausgabe von 1897 von 30.000 auf 640.000 Schweizer Franken Zuschlag gesteigert.

Die Corinphila-Niederlassung in den Niederlanden ließ 2010 in der Philatelie mit einem spektakulären Rekordergebnis aufhorchen, als die drei ersten Briefmarken der Niederlande von 1852 in sogenannten ‚Brückenpaaren‘ mit extra breitem Abstand zwischen den Marken für zusammen 60.000 Euro Auktionszuschlag den Besitzer wechselten.

H.R. Harmer in USA versteigerte neben der Sammlung des amerikanischen Präsidenten Franklin Delano Roosevelt auch die in der Philatelie weltbekannten Kollektionen der amerikanischen Industriellen Alfred F. Lichtenstein (CIBA Präsident) sowie Alfred H. Caspary. Aus der Caspary Sammlung verkaufte H.R.Harmer eines der berühmtesten Stücke der USA-Philatelie, den ‚Eliza Dawson Brief‘ aus dem Jahr 1851 mit Briefmarken der USA und seltenen Missionars-Briefmarken von Hawaii frankiert, an den französischen Tabak-Industriellen Maurice Burrus.

John Bull in Hong Kong wurde 1977 gegründet und ist heute das älteste Briefmarkenauktionshaus in Hong Kong. Zuletzt machte John Bull Schlagzeilen, als eine 1980 von der Postverwaltung der Volksrepublik China ausgegebene Sondermarke zum ‚Jahr des Affen‘, der sogenannte ‚Rote Affe‘ im vollständigen Schalterbogen von 80 Exemplaren, zum Zuschlag von 1,1 Millionen Hong Kong Dollar (umgerechnet etwa 110.000 Euro) einen neuen Liebhaber fand. Übrigens: Der ‚Rote Affe‘ kostete den Sammler im Jahr 1980 bei der Erstausgabe umgerechnet 0,20 Euro, ein Schalterbogen von 80 Exemplaren ganze 16 Euro!

Speziale Drucke

Die schön zentrierte 3c und 10c in speziellem Druck (weiches Papier) wurden bei Nutmeg, jetzt H.R. Harmer im Jahre 2008 für jeweils 135.000 und 90.000 Dollar versteigert.
Die schön zentrierte 3c und 10c in speziellem Druck (weiches Papier) wurden bei Nutmeg, jetzt H.R. Harmer im Jahre 2008 für jeweils 135.000 und 90.000 Dollar versteigert.

SCHWARZER EINSER

Ein zusammenhängendes Blockstück von zwölf Exemplaren des „Schwarzen Einsers“, der ersten Briefmarke Deutschlands von 1849, dabei eine Marke kopfstehend (zweite Reihe erste Marke links!) 320.000 Euro Auktionszuschlag bei Heinrich Köhler im Jahr 2009.

Ein zusammenhängendes Blockstück von zwölf Exemplaren des „Schwarzen Einsers“, der ersten Briefmarke Deutschlands von 1849, dabei eine Marke kopfstehend (zweite Reihe erste Marke links!) 320.000 Euro Auktionszuschlag bei Heinrich Köhler im Jahr 2009.

Winterthur

Acht Briefmarken der Schweizer »Winterthur«-Ausgabe von 1850 auf Brief wurden im Jahr 2009 bei Corinphila-Auktionen in Zürich für 480.000 Schweizer Franken versteigert.
Acht Briefmarken der Schweizer »Winterthur«-Ausgabe von 1850 auf Brief wurden im Jahr 2009 bei Corinphila-Auktionen in Zürich für 480.000 Schweizer Franken versteigert.

BRÜCKENPAARE

Die ersten Briefmarken der Niederlande Ausgabe 1852 in seltenen "Brückenpaare" wurden im Jahr 2010 bei Corinphila Veilingen in Amstelveen für 60.000 euros versteigert.
Die ersten Briefmarken der Niederlande Ausgabe 1852 in seltenen "Brückenpaare" wurden im Jahr 2010 bei Corinphila Veilingen in Amstelveen für 60.000 euros versteigert.

RED REVENUES

15 chinesische Briefmarken „Red Revenues“ aus dem Jahr 1897 wurden bei Corinphila-Auktionen in Zürich im Jahr 2008 auf 640.000 Schweizer Franken Auktionszuschlag versteigert.

15 chinesische Briefmarken „Red Revenues“ aus dem Jahr 1897 wurden bei Corinphila-Auktionen in Zürich im Jahr 2008 auf 640.000 Schweizer Franken Auktionszuschlag versteigert.

Rote Affe

Der „Rote Affe“ von China erzielte 2016 bei John Bull in Hong Kong im Schalterbogen von 80 Exemplaren umgerechnet etwa 168.000 Euro. Sammler bezahlten 1980 bei der Erstausgabe nur 20 Cents pro Marke!

Der „Rote Affe“ von China erzielte 2016 bei John Bull in Hong Kong im Schalterbogen von 80 Exemplaren umgerechnet etwa 168.000 Euro. Sammler bezahlten 1980 bei der Erstausgabe nur 20 Cents pro Marke!


 

DIE GESCHÄFTSFÜHRENDEN GESELLSCHAFTER

Die beiden Geschäftsführer und neuen Teilhaber Dieter Michelson und Karl Louis sind seit vielen Jahren in der Philatelie tätig und eng mit führenden Sammlern und philatelistischen Institutionen vernetzt.

Dieter Michelson, Jahrgang 1960 und geboren in Dublin/Irland, ist seit 1982 ohne Unterbrechung in geschäftsführenden Positionen bei Gesellschaften verschiedener Bereiche der Philatelie tätig. 1981 trat Michelson in das neu gegründete Briefmarken-Großhandelsunternehmen Philagentur GmbH ein. Bereits ein Jahr später übernahm er im Alter von 22 Jahren die Geschäftsführung und führte das Unternehmen durch inneres Wachstum und Übernahme von Mitbewerbern zu einem marktführenden deutschen Großhändler der Briefmarken-Neuausgaben von Postverwaltungen aus aller Welt.

Im Jahr 2002 kam für Dieter Michelson zusätzlich die Geschäftsführung des Auktionshauses Heinrich Köhler in Wiesbaden dazu. Michelson war seit 2009 bis zur jetzt vollzogenen Übernahme verantwortlich für die zur amerikanischen Spectrum Group International gehörenden Briefmarkenunternehmen. Außerdem war er viele Jahre aktiv in den Vorständen des Verbandes des Deutschen Briefmarkenhandels (APHV), des Weltverbandes des Briefmarkenhandels (IFSDA) und von 2005 bis 2008 Präsident des Bundesverbandes Deutscher Briefmarkenversteiger (BDB).

Seit 2009 ist Michelson zudem Mitglied des Consilium Philatelicum, Bonn, einer Institution zur Förderung der Philatelie in Deutschland, die nur maximal 24 Mitglieder hat.

Privat sammelt Dieter Michelson „Irische Postgeschichte im 19. Jahrhundert“. Dabei handelt es sich um die Briefmarken Großbritanniens, die in Irland bis 1900 verwendet wurden sowie „Handillustrierte klassische Briefe aus dem 19. Jahrhundert“.

Karl Louis, Jahrgang 1961, ist seit Beginn der 1970er-Jahre der Philatelie als Sammler, Aussteller und seit 1986 mit Unterbrechungen als Berufsphilatelist verbunden. 1986 Abschluss als Diplom-Kaufmann an der Universität Köln mit einer Diplom-Arbeit in Volkswirtschaftslehre über den ‚Briefmarkenmarkt‘. Von 1986 bis 1991 Berufsphilatelist bei Heinrich Köhler, 1992–1998 Produktmanager und Marketingleiter bei einem großen Bauchemie-Hersteller im Dyckerhoff-Konzern. 1999—2006 Geschäftsführer eines mittelständischen Bauchemie-Produzenten und 2006 Rückkehr in die Briefmarkenbranche als Geschäftsführer von Corinphila-Auktionen in Zürich und Co-Geschäftsführer von Heinrich Köhler.

Weiterhin ist Karl Louis seit 1992 als philatelistischer Gutachter und Experte in nationalen und internationalen Institutionen tätig. Als Sammler mit dem Sammelgebiet ‚Die Briefmarken von Großbritannien während der Regierungszeit Königin Viktorias 1840–1901‘ ist Louis Autor bzw. Co-Autor zahlreicher Fachartikel sowie von Handbüchern und Katalogen zu Themen der Grossbritannien- sowie der Schweiz-Philatelie.

Für eine Fachveröffentlichung im Jahre 2006 wurde er von der Royal Philatelic Society in London mit der Tapling-Medaille ausgezeichnet.


Dieter Michelson
Dieter Michelson
Karl Louis
Karl Louis

KontaKt

Köhler & Corinphila Holding GmbH

Dieter Michelson und Karl Louis
c/o Heinrich Köhler Auktionshaus GmbH & Co. KG
Wilhelmstr. 48
65183 Wiesbaden
+49 (0)6 11 3 93 81
+49 (0)6 11 3 93 84
info@heinrich-koehler.de